Filler Neck Hoses on a 1972 Fiat Coupe

Filler neck hose differences on Fiats...

Attached is a picture of the only hose I list for a 1971 coupe (right)–and a smaller right angle hose. When I did mine–a 1972 coupe–the listed one (right) was incorrect and kinked where it bent to go over to the tank.  The one on mine was like the smaller of the two in the picture, only it had a 3 inch longer upper limb.

To fix mine,  I cut the top 3 inches off the smaller hose, and added a cut portion of another filler neck pipe.  I clamped the cut piece to the filler neck in the car.  Then clamped in the 4 inch extension pipe.  From there, I clamped the remaining L shaped piece to the extension.  Effectively extending the upper portion of the hose by 3 inches.  Fit great, works fine.
The shorter L shaped hose is for a 124 spider, so the replacement at a later time is readily available.
I know sounds a bit rube gold-berg—but works well, and is hidden under the plastic cover that fits over the filler neck area anyway.   I can come up with a cut bit of pipe to do the conversion, if you wish.  Or sell you the larger hose if you think you can make it work.
–Courtesy of Tom at Aspen Import Auto, http://www.fiatrescue.com

Leave a comment